Printed Circuit Board Assembly & PCB Design SMT Electronics Assembly Manufacturing Forum

Printed Circuit Board Assembly & PCB Design Forum

SMT electronics assembly manufacturing forum.

Capability Study for Solder Printing Process

Sophia

Capability Study for Solder Printing Process | 19 September, 2000

Hi guys,

I have been working in the SMT pick and place process for five years, and now I'm responsible for the solder paste printing process, and one thing that I notice is that the actual process that we have is to poor, actually our main defects are caused by this process, can somebody help me on what should I check to have a capability Study for this and the best tools to decrease the defects, like solder height, off location, stencil parameters, all the important things????

thanks in advance.

reply »

Re: Capability Study for Solder Printing Process | 20 September, 2000

Congrats. You now control the source of almost 70% of the defects of your SMT operation.

There is a neat series of presentations on printing, each year at SMI. One of the best of the SMI series was in 1997, because presenters used a common board design, paste, stencil, etc when talking about the thirty-six or so variables that contribute to the quality of a print. The papers written by these presenters are: * "Characterizing And Controlling the SMT Screen Printing Process" MJ Beck, View Engineering * "The Affect Of Aperture Area Aspect Ratio On SMT Printing Technology" RS Clouthier, AMTX * "Importance Of Board Planarity" G Trinite, Elexsys International * "Solder Paste Design And Performance Verification For Fine Pitch Printing" RR Lathrop, Jr, Heraeus Cermalloy * "Optimum Printer Properties For Fine Pitch Printing" A Johnson, MPM

Further, I�d suggest that a moderately ambitious rep for the company that makes your screen printer should be able to give you copies of papers on printing that will give additional insight.